

COUNCIL MEETING SUMMONS

Members of Fareham Borough Council are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of the Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Fareham, on THURSDAY, 9 MAY 2013, commencing at 6.00 pm.

The Mayor: Councillor Dennis Steadman

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor Susan Bayford

Councillor Brian Bayford
Councillor Susan Bell
Councillor John Bryant
Councillor Pamela Bryant
Councillor Trevor Cartwright
Councillor Peter Davies
Councillor Trevor Howard
Councillor Leslie Keeble
Councillor Tim Knight
Councillor Arthur Mandry
Councillor Trevor Cartwright
Councillor David Norris

Councillor Marian Ellerton Councillor Sarah Pankhurst
Councillor Jack Englefield Councillor Roger Price, JP
Councillor Keith Evans Councillor David Swanbrow

Councillor Geoff Fazackarley Councillor Katrina Trott
Councillor Michael Ford, JP Councillor Nick Walker

Councillor Jim Forrest Councillor David Whittingham
Councillor Nick Gregory Councillor Paul Whittle, JP
Councillor Tiffany Harper Councillor Seán Woodward

Councillor Connie Hockley David Basson



1. Apologies for Absence

morning session.

2. Election of Mayor

To elect the Mayor of Fareham for the municipal year 2013/14. (The order of proceedings to be observed is set out in the programme, which will be available at the meeting).

3. Election of Deputy Mayor

To elect the Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2013/14 in accordance with Standing Order 2.2.

4. Mayor's Cadet

To present the Mayor's Cadet for 2013/14 with the badge of service.

5. Adjournment until 2.30 pm

The meeting will re-convene in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Fareham.

6. Apologies for Absence

afternoon session

7. Minutes (Pages 1 - 10)

To confirm as a correct record the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 25 April 2013

8. Mayor's Announcements

9. Presentation of Petitions

To receive any petitions from members of the Council.

10. Declaration of Interest

Members are reminded that they should declare any personal and prejudicial interests as appropriate in accordance with the Council's Code of Conduct and Standing Orders.

11. Appointment of the Executive

(1) Executive Leader

At the annual meeting in May 2012, Councillor S D T Woodward was elected to be the Executive Leader for a term of 4 years. In accordance with Standing Order 3.1, members are asked to confirm the appointment for this next municipal year.

(2) Number of Other Executive Members

Members are reminded that following the resolution of the Council on 16 December 2010, the Executive Leader is invited to advise the Council of his appointment of two or more (but no more than nine) members to form the Executive.

(3) Election of Other Executive Members

Members are reminded that the Executive Leader is responsible for determining the areas of Executive responsibility and for allocating the portfolios to the Executive members appointed. The Executive Leader is invited to advise the Council of his appointments.

(4) Areas of Executive Responsibility

In accordance with Standing Order 5.1, the Executive Leader is invited to determine the separate areas of responsibility to be allocated to the Executive Members for the forthcoming year. Members are reminded that Appendix 5 to Part 1 of the Council's Constitution currently provides for the following areas of responsibility:-

- Leisure and Community;
- Strategic Planning and Environment;
- Policy, Strategy and Finance;
- Public Protection;
- Health and Housing; and
- Streetscene.

The Executive Leader is invited to confirm the areas of responsibility for 2013/14. Members are reminded that the allocation of these portfolios to the Executive Members is a matter for the Executive Leader.

12. Appointment of Committees and Allocation of Seats (Pages 11 - 20)

In accordance with its Standing Orders, the Council is invited to consider a report on the appointment of committees and the allocation of seats following the nominations of political groups

13. Standards Arrangements - Appointment of Designated Independent Members

The Council is reminded that the Localism Act 2011 implemented significant changes to the Standards regime which required the Council to put in place new arrangements to deal with matters of ethics, probity and Members conduct.

At its meeting in June 2012, the Council appointed Mr David Basson and Mrs Mary Kilbride as the Council's two Designated Independent Persons for the purposes of consideration, investigation and hearing of complaints under the Members Code of Conduct as required under section 28(7) of the Localism Act 2011.

The Council is recommended to confirm Mr David Basson and Mrs Mary Kilbride as the Council's two Designated Independent Persons for this next municipal year.

14. Community Action Teams

The Council is reminded that it has established Community Action Teams throughout the Borough and has determined that a ward Councillor shall be appointed as Chairman of each of the CATs, except where the Mayor is appointed to be Chairman for his/her own ward area CAT. The Council is therefore invited to appoint a Chairman for each of the following:-

- Portchester Community Action Team (comprising the Portchester East and Portchester West wards);
- Crofton Community Action Team (comprising Stubbington and Hill Head wards);
- Titchfield Community Action Team (comprising Titchfield and Titchfield Common wards); and
- Fareham Town Community Action Team (comprising Fareham East, Fareham North, Fareham North-West, Fareham South and Fareham West wards)

Having determined at item 2 to elect the Mayor of Fareham, the Council is now asked to confirm that the Chairman for Western Wards Community Action Team (comprising Locks Heath, Park Gate, Sarisbury and Warsash wards) will be Councillor Mrs S M Bayford for 2013/14.

15. Policy Framework

Standing Order 9 requires the Council to establish or confirm the plans and strategies which are to comprise the Council's overall policy framework within which the Executive will operate during the coming year. The Council's Constitution sets out the major plans and strategies reserved to the Council for approval. The Council is therefore invited to confirm the policy framework for 2013/14 as comprising those plans and strategies identified in the table below:

Policy/Strategy	Last adopted or approved by	Date
Sustainable Community Strategy	Council	1 February 2010
Housing Strategy	Council	22 April 2010
Food Safety Service Plan	Council	2 April 2012
Licensing Policy	Council	16 December 2010
Development Plan: • Fareham Core Strategy	Council	4 August 2011
Fareham Borough Local Plan Review	Planning and Transportation Committee	23 March 2000

2000		
Community Safety Strategy	Council	16 May 2011
Corporate vision values, objectives and priority actions	Council	23 June 2011

16. Appointments to Outside Bodies (Pages 21 - 46)

Standing Order 10 requires the Council to make appointments to outside bodies, other than appointments which are required by law to be made by the Executive. Appended to this agenda is a report scheduling the appointments to be made.

P GRIMWOOD Chief Executive Officer

www.fareham.gov.uk 30 April 2013

For further information please contact:
Democratic Services, Civic Offices, Fareham, PO16 7AZ
Tel:01329 236100

democraticservices@fareham.gov.uk